Driver's Education
 


Although Buffalo Valley Schools does not currently offer a driver's education program, we do understand the need for our students to have access to these programs. This page provides information on the requirements and various options for students to obtain a driver's license in Oklahoma.

Requirements:

  • Applicants must be enrolled in an accredited high school or home-school program.
  •  
  • Applicants must be at least 15 years of age.
  •  
  • Students who do not take a driver's education class through a public school will be required to take the written test to recieve a permit.
  •  
  • Permits must be carried for 6 months from the date of issue.
  •  
  • The above list does not apply to anyone 18 years of age or older.
  •  
  • Everyone should read and study the manual. OK Driver's Manual
  •  

Program Options:

  • Clayton - Information Pending
  •  
  • Talihina - Information Pending
  •  
  • Parent-Taught - The costs of an online program varies by company. The packet is the best information source and contains the document required before signing up for an online program. Parent-Taught Packet
  •  

Oklahoma law requires that a student pass the eighth grade reading test in order to get a license. Any student not testing on at least an eighth grade level will not be permitted to get their license until such time as they meet the required levels or they turn 18 years of age.




Driver's Education





Oklahoma's Promise

Clayton & Talihina both offer traditional Instructor taught courses. Contact their offices for more details.